St John Lutheran Church in Westhoff Texas

St. John Lutheran Church - Westhoff, Texas

St. John Lutheran Church is located in Westhoff, Texas. Westhoff is on U.S. Highway 87 near the Gonzales county line fourteen miles from Cuero in far northwestern DeWitt County.

St. John's Westhoff Social Media Links


Inside St John Lutheran Church in Westhoff Texas

St. John Lutheran Church was founded on March 29,1908 in Westhoff by five members and Rev J.F. Christiansen. The birthplace of the church as well as the first services were in a dance hall. Other services were held in saloons and under an oak tree. In 1913 a devastating fire in Westhoff destroyed thirteen businesses. Without a cent in hand, the congregation resolved to build a simple church. A four board walled church (without inside finishing) was dedicated in November, 1908. In 1914 the tower and bell were dedicated and by 1916 the inside of the church was finished with a 16 foot addition. The parsonage was bought in 1929 and the Parish Hall was built in 1949. A new parsonage was purchased in l996. The latest renovations were made in 2008 in preparation for the 100th anniversary.

During the first 100 years, 612 people were baptized, 233 couples were married, 641 individuals were confirmed and 383 were buried. At present there are 104 baptized members and 95 confirmed members. Besides weekly worship services, there are other special events such as Easter sunrise breakfast, Plant Schwap, Special Singing, Special Dinners honoring new members, graduates, and senior citizens.

Join us for our Sunday Worship or any of our Special Events.

Sunday Worship 10:30 a.m.

Communion 1st Sunday

Women's Group 2nd Wednesday

Church Council 2nd Tuesday

Hymn Sing 5th Sunday

Lenten Service Observed

Christmas Eve Candlelight Service

St Johns Westhoff Council and Officers for 2024

Warren Seidel - President

William Schulle - Vice President

Jeannie Seidel - Secretary

Christie Cornel - Treasurer

Lynn Nessel - Council

Jimmy Toller – Council

David Cornelius - Council

Kristye Kahlich - Council

Rodney Nolte – Council

HR Krause - Council




Westhoff Women's Group for 2024

Sue Hilbrich - President

Earlene Montgomery - Vice President

Judy Schlenker - Secretary

Kristye Kahlich – Treasurer


Planning Committee for 2024

Rodney Nolte

Kerry Kenne

Jimmy Toller

Cheryl Bunjes

Georgia Nessel

Kristye Kahlick


Nominating Committee for 2024

Richard Neubauer

Sue Allison

Carolyn Kahlich

David Nitsche

David Baros

Sheryl Mueller

Copyright© 2011 Victoria Web Design : Fully Managed WebsitesVictoria Web Design